Bulimia And Bathing Suit Season

Thought Catalog

Ttatty / Shutterstock.com Ttatty / Shutterstock.com

It has been 730 days since I last made myself throw up. It has been one day since I have thought about doing it. Today marks day one of a new journey. Today I did something I thought I would never do—I didn’t want to throw up.

I have battled bulimia tirelessly for the greater portion of my life. Most days it feels as though I am fighting a losing battle. It won’t quit, but I won’t, either. I am twenty-four years old and my first thought of purging crossed my mind at ten years old. Purging and self-hate should not be feelings of an otherwise happy and stable ten-year-old girl. But such is life. I have been in and out of therapy, both inpatient and out. I had all of the usual symptoms and side effects. I lost my hair; I have dental issues and heart…

View original post 663 more words

Leave a Reply

